Violet Evergarden CM – Afterthoughts

My goodness. That’s probably one of the most visually appeasing animation I’ve seen in a while. It lasted only half a minute, but I had to lower the video speed to digest everything that’s happening within a second.

If you haven’t heard yet, KyoAni recently announced a project adapting the award winning light novel Violet Evergarden. More information can be found in Anime News Network’s post — I’m here to speak my thoughts on what we can expect from watching the teaser.

You can watch the video here first. It doesn’t need to be said that even by KyoAni standards, the visuals is on another level. Well, the thing is, it’s not fair to prematurely judge that the series will be this beautiful through a 30-second video alone. It’s just that it’s hard not to expect good things out of it considering that the staff and the source material looks good in paper. KyoAni’s “kinda” on a slump right now given that their entry last season, Musaigen no Phantom World, is probably one of the most disappointing and underwhelming show they’ve produced thus far and I hope I can just close my eyes and forget that I watched it. Regardless, they have a couple of AAA titles under their belt: Clannad, Hyouka, Hibike Euphonium to name a few.

Based on what we’ve seen, Violet Evergarden seems to be a mix of drama/romance (which kinda reminds me of Plastic Memories with all the dolls and stuff) and, weirdly enough, some action. That great axe scene feels kinda out of place with the solemn piano tune playing in the background. Nevertheless, I’m pretty sure KyoAni has the talent and resource to turn this into one of their best work. They can put life in their animation if they wanted to — and this has already been showcased in their earlier works. Just imagine it: the drama of Clannad plus the animation/directing of Hyouka, Violet Evergarden can surpass both of them. Anyways, I guess this is just me being pessimistic. I’ve no reason to not get hyped about this since I know KyoAni has the capability to bring their old magic back into screen. Well, we’ll actually get to watch Koe no Katachi first, so I think I have to worry about Evergarden later instead! For now, let’s bask in the glory of the teaser and try to decipher the lyrics to the Engrish song as we hum along.

3 comments

  1. Rocco B · · Reply

    Wow, this looks pretty interesting. And the art is pretty impressive.

    Like

    1. Yep. It looks great as a commercial, but we can’t expect it will look the same when it airs (around 2017). I just hope kyoani doesn’t mess this one up 😐

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rocco B · ·

        whoa pretty late airing. Yeah hope so too.

        Liked by 1 person

Well, what do you think?

