I Am Sunshine

Roses are red
Violets are blue
I love anime
Daisuki desu

I’ve always wanted to say that in one of my posts but whatever. I don’t want to creep you guys out with my randomness. Anyways, I have been chosen as one of the lucky bloggers to represent Earth in the SunshineWeShine awarding coming this whoknowswhen. I am truly honored to be given this recognition. I swear I’ll do my best to make you guys proud.

sunshine-blogger

And before we head straight to the shenanigans, I’d like to offer my thanks to Kapodaco for being the awesome guy he is. Thank you. I appreciate the gesture, and it makes my tummy feel butterflies from the thought that someone actually enjoyed that goddamn NHK article. I’m never going near that thing again even with a 10-foot pole in hand.

Also, I’d like to take this time to thank YahariBento-sensei, Venus-chan, and Rocco-dono respectively for previously nominating me an award. I apologize if I wasn’t able to respond to you folks formally since I was too busy living the life of a normie.

Now, let’s keep this short.

Flaunt Display Award
Give the person who nominated you a cookie Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog. Try to include a little promotion for the person who nominated you.
Tell me 11 dirty secrets you absolutely won’t share to anyone Answer the 11 questions they’ve written for you.
Go on a date with 11 bloggers you nominated Nominate 11 bloggers from the magic circle and then ask 11 new questions.

And so Kapodaco asked me these questions.

1479448042101

How are you today?

Not gonna lie. I feel stupid. You know those days when you’re so drained out from work, then your boss forces you to take overtime, and then ensuing shit happens, and when you’re trying to think nothing comes out of it? Yeah, that kind of stupid. Anyways, I saw Your Name yesterday in the theaters. Great experience considering it’s my first ever anime film I watched on the big screen. Now if only I can find someone to complain to about the crappy sound system…

What is your favorite genre of music?

Funny you ask that. Right now I’m so gungho in this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B51bLBdUt3w

Oftentimes I’m humming this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQNYL5OJ988

There are days when I feel like watching the world burn:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9s08x-kIxFs&t

Sorry, man. I just…
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zPKvxYrgBV4

Or, heck, when I’m feeling all geeky I go for this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UlLV8p3vTW8

Ah, and did I mention how awesome Pendulum and Blue Stahli is?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04QpInkz9so

Whoop! High-school nostalgia:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRKJiM9Njr8

And when I’m a Flipflino normie, I go local like this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ci5J5fth2u8

OMG TAYLOR SWIFT:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wT7ahe7hiBs

I listen to techno/EDM stuff, rap as well, and I guess anything? You get my drift. (I play guitar too heh)

Do you have any pets? If not, why do you hate animals to the point where you wouldn’t consider adopting one?

Mom has 20 (or more) cats. I have 2, plus a cutie patootie cactus. I do hate cats though because of… well, long story.

Have you ever tried to get to the tootsie roll center of a tootsie pop just by licking?

HMMMM Nope. I haven’t tried that yet. Where’d you get the idea? Have you tried eating a bag of Hersheys Kisses just by melting them inside your mouth — no chewing, sucking?

If anime became more widespread in its popularity, much in the sense that video games have in the last ten years or so, what anime do you think would take the crown as the general public’s favorite?

I guess anything that’s visually good, and something that can actually be a source of discussion between you and your friends. Aria is awesome, and I wish it gains more fans, but despite how perfect it is in my opinion there doesn’t seem to be any topic worth talking about with someone else. But I guess the show is more about eliciting feelings from you passively — something that should be kept personally — rather than actual reactions which anime like Your Name, AoT, SaO are pretty good at. And, hey, you have to cast a wider net to win those viewers so yeah, those mainstream titles will still probably be the go-to stuff in the future.

Animal Crossing or Harvest Moon? Or Stardew Valley? Or anything like them?

1480360368472

I’ve only played Harvest Moon. Love that game. Like, I remember this time when I named a cow using my friend’s name. Cow died 2 days after. Told my friend about it. Laughed out so loud after getting a “???!” look on her face.

Finances aside, would you rather travel by plane, train, or boat?

1480977133886

I’m scared of riding trains and planes. So boat. No, not a pun. And no, I’m certainly not joking.

Do you think the “Eww, gross! Weeaboo!” stigma of anime and manga would translate to that of a standard light novel enthusiast?

yotsuba-face

First of all… don’t let any negativity get to you. If you like something, then like it. Be proud of it. It’s about time this Japanese culture we’re consuming gets treated like a legitimate form of art and entertainment (which is why just for that sake, I’m hoping Your Name gets nominated/wins the Oscar). Plus, I’m pretty sure we’re no longer at an era where bleaching your hair and wearing tattered jeans will get you in trouble with your neighborhood.

Second, you will only be deemed as a “weaboo” if you’re actually acting chuuni, and I doubt being a casual light novel reader does that to you. Then again, why would you let someone else’s opinion sway your love for something? The joke’s on them, not you, for missing out on something great. Don’t we go gaga for something we like anyways?

Watch any sports?

Basketball, and Tennis. Played some tennis during high-school. Evolved from fat to fit.

What is a story you’d like to see adapted into anime form? (Whether it be from a novel, movie, video game, or otherwise)

I’d love some Final Fantasy 1-2 adaptation. Something laid back/slice-of-life/fantasy-esque reminsicent of Spice and Wolf’s world. Grimgar comes into mind but remove the drama, tweak the aesthetics, and then we’re talking.

Average hours of sleep you get in a night?

d4gof11

Ooooh boy. I WANT 10 HOURS OF SLEEP. Back when I was a NEET with no worries whatsoever, I cling to my bed for more than 10 hours a day. When I got a job, that went down to 8. Now you introduce anime into that equation then we’re talking 7-6 — and that is already past the danger zone (I have a rule. I have to stop whatever I’m doing on or before 2PM and then go to sleep). Gee, I wonder how people who sleeps 4 hours a day live. That’s crazy.

And yeah, that also answers why I can be crazy from time to time. Well, then. I’ll also go with nominating 3 bloggers whom I’d like to get to know more.

Samui26 – Swell dude. Follow him on Twitter if you want to be converted to the ways of the fudanshi. Runs a humble blog too.

Cauthan – Cool, demure, classy… that’s Cauthan for yah. Check out his blog for an archive of completed anime reviews. There’s a lot to choose from, and you won’t get disappointed from the quality.

JekoJeko – I’m sure Jeko’s busy with stuff, and I know responding to an “awarding” post is the least of his worries but I just felt like plugging his name here. Dude influenced me with how I tackle and form my thoughts on anime, so yeah, he totally deserves a highlight. Follow him on his blog for some engaging pieces; consider becoming a Patron if you could.

Nah, I’m not going to ask you guys what your secrets are

giphy

  1. What’s the most shameful experience that ever happened to you (if you have one)? What’s your preference in clothing? Smart-casual? Trench coats? Etc.?
  2. What’s the story behind your online handle/name?
  3. Cats or dogs?
  4. Do you think you’ll still be watching anime 10 years from now? Why, and why not?
  5. Ever thought that you’re better off spending time with something else instead of anime?
  6. You got yourself $100000000000000 cash for some reason. What’s the first thing you’re going to buy?
  7. Any plans of going on a trip to Japan?
  8. What’s your favorite book (fiction and or non-fiction)?
  9. I am currently fanboying over Ghibli films, and I can’t seem to shut up talking about it in Tweeter. Have you seen any of their films? If so, what’s your thought on them, and what is/are your favorite film/s?
  10. What’s your comfort food?
  11. Are you a morning person?

Lol finally, a non-episodic post. I don’t know how to end this article but whatever. Had a fun time thinking of silly stuff, to say the least.

aria_v06_c26_036

12 comments

  1. It’s really fun reading your posts! LOL! 20 CATS?! Seriously?? Oh yep, congratulations on the award!

    Like

    1. Yep. 20 fat cats, and I remember all their names.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was probably the best award post I’ve ever read. Great work. Totally not incredibly flattered you went above and beyond complimenting me, either. ; ]

    Like

    1. Thought I’d at least give it an effort lol thanks!

      Like

  3. lol, this post is absolutely adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. y-you’re adorable too, sempai!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. d’aw, you’re making me blush ._.

        Like

  4. Congratulations, btw. 🙂

    Like

  5. This was a fun to read through all of your thorough answers. I haven’t watched NHK yet but once I do I might have to check out this article that’s been mentioned. Congrats on the award and thanks for the flattering words as well as the nomination. If it seems like I have it all together then the facade of intelligence has succeeded. It’s been a while since I’ve done an award response so I’ll likely be trying to get around to this earlier than later. Thanks a bunch.

    Like

    1. If there’s one thing I don’t agree here is that you shouldn’t read that NHK post lol anyways, you’re welcome~

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, I thought your comment might have been in regards to an obscene amount of effort put into it. Can do, haha.

        Like

  6. Congrats on the award! 🎉
    20 cats?! And two cactus? Sign me Up!
    YEES, I want Final Fantasy 1 and 2, and all of them truthfully, as anime’s too!
    I sleep 8 to 10h a day, but I am NEET, but also I can’t seem to work properly without a lot of rest so 😹

    Like

Well, what do you think?

