Kuzu no Honkai – Episode 1

Boob groping, french kisses, foreplays, squelchy sounds, a twisted relationship… if you’re someone who’s too pure for these kinds of stuff then you better get out of this page. NOW.

kuzunohonkai02

Oh boy. I think I just opened a can of worms by picking this show up. I honestly wasn’t expecting Kuzu no Honkai to be explicitly sensual this early on, but I guess that in itself works as a caveat for those curious onlookers who just wanted to check the anime out. The premise is… pretty simple, but can get fucked up when you consider how fucked up love can become in the first place. While I’m not here to pass judgment on what love is and isn’t, I still feel like Kuzu no Honkai was able to convey the feeling that Hanabi and Mugi’s relationship can be seen as equally revolting and beautiful.

Revolting in a way that if I imagine someone who has a crush in me with a throbbing clit making out with a pillow with a picture of my face attached to it… yeah, you get where I am coming from. I’m still wrestling with my inner self trying to comprehend what gave their relationship this dignified air to it, but for now I have to hand it to KnH‘s sparkly visuals and neatly used manga panels in evoking this feeling that’s quite serene. If you’ve been following me long enough, you won’t be wrong to say that I’m one apostle of the idea of beauty in suffering… but god, KnH‘s fuckepedness makes me want to shout at my screen and scream JUST GODDAMN CONFESS. Of course, this is in no way of me criticizing the show or whatever, and I think this moral conundrum is one thing that KnH wanted me tackle and question.

kuzunohonkai03

Episode 1 was more or less just a reintroduction of the premise, but I knew for a fact that I’m in for something good just by looking at the names of the staff (director and script writer) involved with School Days and with White Album 2 — both anime infamous for giving love a bad name. It wasn’t the most emotionally charged episode as I’m still trying to wrap my head with what’s happening and that KnH is more concerned with getting the sensuality and the characters out there first and foremost, but so far I’m loving the visual array of presentation this episode. There’s that obvious contrast between dim and bright lightning, those washed out watercolored frames flying around like an eye-catch, those manga panel inserts giving a scene more description to it than a simple shot reverse-shot… it honestly feels like I’m watching a manga than an anime which is, I guess, a viewing experience I found rather pleasant.

kuzunohonkai04

Short thoughts:

  • That… um, bed scene was hot (and awkward). I actually had to pause mid-scene to digest what was happening.
  • OP and ED was awesome as expected. OP was sung by 96neko, one of those famous Nico Nico Douga singer. Best thing about her is that she can sing with a female AND a male voice (low and husky). I used to listen to her a lot when I was hung up with vocaloids years ago, so yeah I’m surprised to hear her in an anime.
  • ED was sung by Sayuri. Loved from her ERASED and Ranpo Kitan EDs. Go to Youtube, listen to both those songs. Her voice is amazing.
  • Apparently, that girl sensei is a bitch. I don’t know what they meant by this but… hoo boy.
  • Now that we’ve got that kinky scene out of the way… how messed up can Kuzu no Honkai get moving forward?
  • Hopefully I can get out of this high-horse thinking that they’re naive kids, otherwise I ain’t gonna feel emotional with this show.
  • Love the character designs. Those glossy looking eyes are beautiful.
  • Last time I saw those panel stuff used was in Kare Kano. Really efficient way to present a scene.
  • Hanabi’s seiyuu sounds cute.
  • Now I wish they’d adapt one of Inio Asano’s work too.
  • “It’s electric.” KnH‘s one-liners can put 50 Shades of Gray to shame.

Welp. I guess… that’s it. I don’t know what’s going to come next, but given the positive reactions of those manga readers I’ve seen in Twitter, I can’t feel but be hopeful that Kuzu no Honkai‘s going to grab a podium finish for Winter 2017 top anime. I’ll see you folks next week~

Oh, Hanabi’s cute btw

kuzunohonkai05

6 comments

  1. I didn’t get to talk about it in my review of the episode, but yes, that ED was fantastic. I think the bedroom scene was to show that the series isn’t afraid to go where it needs to, but can approach repulsiveness in a surprisingly beautiful way. Not only is it nice to look at, but it’s evocative in its presentation and ambition.

    Now let’s hope this keeps up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If you haven’t read the manga yet, DON’T SPOIL YOURSELF. Considering the eminently competent way that the original material is presented (I considered Kuzu no Honkai to be impossible to animate, at the very least for public TV), I suspect that you’ll draw the most enjoyment out of it this way, if you are NOT spoiled about the twists and turns.

    With your mindset, you’ll be in for a treat. I can promise you that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds really assuring. If this episode got me by surprise then I’m honestly eager to see what’s going to surprise me more.

      Like

  3. Not really related to the topic, but I’m curious what’s wrong with White Album 2 as you put it on the same level of infamy with School Days. Haven’t watched the series, but it seemed to me that generally people praise it for the more realistic than usual portrayal of romance.

    Like

    1. It’s not exactly the same like someone getting murdered. How do I put it… I guess it’s just that the ending left all the characters aghast, with no conclusive closure to the story. It’s hard to explain without extrapolating/spoiling the ending, but yeah it’s exactly the realistic gut punch of the ending that felt like someone stabbing your heart with a blunt knife that made it as infamous as School Days imo.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Then it all makes sense. Thanks, I’ll have that in mind when I’ll decide to finally start watching it.

        Like

Well, what do you think?

