Winter 2017 – Week 6

Winter 2017 gets even better with Maid Dragon‘s inclusion on my watch list. Why didn’t I pick this show up sooner?

Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon – Episodes 1-3

maiddragon01

I wasn’t expecting much from Maid Dragon when I decided to take the plunge. Nevertheless, it was pleasant enough to brighten up my otherwise hollow day brought by Foxcatcher‘s stunning end. Fun, colorful, and has this fluffy moments from time to time. It reminds me of one my favorite anime from KyoAni, Nichijou, only without the high octane randomness. Those short snippets of gags, those cut to buildings and apartments, playful eye-catch, that ambient score, those subtle gestures ranging from sighs to smiles… yep, it’s definitely Nichijou. While the structure and the vibe may be apparent to Nichijou‘s, Maid Dragon‘s characters are what I consider the true gem of this show. I guess it’s kinda similar to how Demi-chan handles its characterization with careful attention to detail. Oh whatever. Maid Dragon is Maid Dragon, and I’m really loving it.

OP is looking great too. Oddly enough, my favorite part of the OP is that scene with the side-characters spinning like some helicopter’s rotor. I think I’ve seen that before… can’t remember where.

Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2 – Episodes 4-6

konosuba25

I’m relegating Konosuba to this weekly roundup instead. It’s not because I’m not liking it — in fact I’m having a huge blast — it’s just that it really is difficult to find something to write about for this show. I could’ve just written HAHAHAHA and multiply it by how many times I giggled and call it quits.

To keep things short, episodes 4-5 were okay, whilst episode 6 is Konosuba at its finest. I guess Konosuba shines brighter when it isn’t dragging too long on the joke, and instead employs numerous quirky and creative punchlines. Episode 6 is an example of that and boy it was magnificent. There were some sakuga worthy moments here such as that awesome limited animation with Aqua casting some magic and throwing a fit, but the best and funniest part of it all is when the animation becomes obviously bad for the sake of the lulz (man, those Lizard Runners or whatever almost made me snort out my OJs).

Masamune-kun no Revenge – Episode 6

Aki uses swimsuit.

masamunekunnorevenge05

It’s super effective!

Nothing really going on in this episode, though it made me question myself if I can build my own harem if I start working out.

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen – Episode 6

rakugo07

Rakugo continues its perfect streak. Can’t say much though other than I’m rearing to watch the next episode.

Little Witch Academia (TV) – Episode 6

littlewitchacademia07

It’s a hit aaaaaand a bit of a miss. I don’t know man. Episode 6 was a fun romp, but that dramatic scene towards the end kinda lacked punch. That Shiny Chariot transformation scene and montage was amazing though.

Tales of Zestiria the X Season 2 – Episode 6

tozx0206

Another dozer. More lengthy expositions. World building’s a terrible mess. Minimal to no pay off.

Demi-chan wa Kataritai – Episode 6

demichan07

Another funtastatic episode. Enjoyable and great characters doesn’t only extend to Demis, it seems.

ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka  – Episode 6

acca1306

ACCA‘s making slow progress in the plot, and moreso raises questions than answers. At least things are looking to be tied up neatly when it ends.

Seiren – Episode 6

seiren06

Kinkiest mating scene ever. I thought Seiren‘s going to follow the same formula Amagami SS does with its character arcs but whatever.

Weekly Weekly-chan

foxcatcher

Week 6’s highlight surprisingly came in one single day. Was perusing my movie backlogs and settled with Foxcatcher the movie I wasn’t able to watch because of Birdman and Whiplash. Two hours later, and with a sweaty forehead, I thought to myself… I should’ve watched this first before Birdman and/or Whiplash.

Gripping, intense, a total nail-biter — claustrophobic even. It’s a movie I won’t easily recommend to anyone, unless I have the knowledge that they were able to stomach Grave of the Fireflies‘ harrowing story. They’re the only film so far that made me take a walk outside, light up a cigar, take a satisfying drag, and… just watch people. The atmosphere will leave you biting your thumb in anxious anticipation, and with blatant disregard, either cuts to a new/shot locating or startles you with gut punch. There’s little to no use of music during confrontations, as Foxcatcher simply thrives in eerie silence, something which perfectly encapsulates the weight of its scenes. Say, imagine standing in front of the jury. You, accused of murder, and the judge is to sentence you to death. You don’t have a lawyer, and you don’t have an alibi. You’re guilty, and an oppressive silence is the only answer you hear amidst your plea.

Yeah, it’s no use describing the atmosphere here so the best way for you to get it is for you to watch the film. Oh, don’t worry. You won’t cry. You won’t cry like with how you reacted to Grave of the Fireflies. At the very least, that festering dread’s going to swarm in your chest, and you can’t cry it off. I didn’t cry. I wish I could. I wish I haven’t seen this film.

Good news is that Maid Dragon‘s too fun I didn’t need to be depressed for the day. It’s like someone burned my house down, and then I won the lottery 5 minutes later. Weird week, yo.

 

Leave a Reply

