Winter 2017 – Week 9

Ahh, what a great season it has been, eh? Winter 2017 was more fun than what I initially expected out of it, and Spring 2017 doesn’t look shabby either. Anime is just getting better and better.

Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon – Episode 9

maiddragon04

I love those reactions lol

CHU CHU YEAH!
BEE’S KNEE!
CHU CHU YEAH!
CHU CHU!

I don’t know, man. I start feeling happy for some reason after watching an episode of Maid Dragon, and episode 9 is not an exception.

Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2 – Episode 9

konosuba28

That part with Kazuma staring at a lady while stark naked had me in stitches. My head’s telling me it’s rude, but I guess I was laughing more at how incredibly embarrassing and awkward it is in real life situations (I had quite a bad sense of humour, you see).

Masamune-kun no Revenge – Episode 9

masamunekunnorevenge10

Neko’s backstory was okay, and it sucks that she never stood a chance in winning the Masamune Bowl. Things are getting more and more interesting with that cliffhanger. Who would’ve thought Aki has an eye for flabby flabs! But I guess I should’ve already expected that from a tsundere.

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen – Episode 10

rakugo10

One of my favorite episode for this week. I’m really, really happy to see Kikuhiko finally warming up to those around him instead of his usual unapproachable mood. It took Rakugo about a whole season to develop its characters, and seeing them in another light is joyously rewarding. However, there’s a question I’d like to raise. What’s with Sukeroku haunting Kikuhiko like a ghost? It’s not as if Kikuhiko was the one who killed him… not unless Rakugo’s narrative got stuck in the perspective of Kikuhiko’s fabricated story that he was the main culprit for killing Konatsu’s parents. Well, whatever. I don’t care at this point, and neither do I know how Rakugo is going to end, but if there’s one thing I’m sure at, it’s that Rakugo was one of the finest performance ever crafted by anime.

Little Witch Academia (TV) – Episode 9

littlewitchacademia10

Eh, pretty okay episode. I’m fine with the formulaic approach, but it feels like LWA has been more of a hit and a miss with its antics. Then again, it’s kinda unfortunate to say that I’m mostly enjoying LWA so far because it’s Trigger, rather than because it’s LWA.

Tales of Zestiria the X Season 2 – Episode 9

tozx0210

I don’t really mind exposition ladden shows, but if its presentation is as boring and dull as this is then you’ve got yourself a dozer. Regardless, the prospect of Alisha doing Armatization was enough of a reason for me to keep watching this show until the end.

Demi-chan wa Kataritai – Episode 9

demichan10

Holy shit. Characterization through Quantum Psychics? Count me in. And the best part of it is that it isn’t half-baked. I know none to zero about Quantum mechanics (heck, who even understands it?), but hearing Souma-sensei blabber E=mc2 plus Dullahan = human something something was honestly convincing to say the least. So if Dullahan-chan’s neck works as a worm-hole… okay, nevermind. I was thinking of placing her head in building A, then her body in building B… you know where I’m coming from — but of course the human body doesn’t work that way so meh.

ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka – Episode 9

acca1309

ACCA‘s episode 9 is the very definition of “Ah, it all makes sense now!” reaction I’m wearing while watching this show.

Seiren – Episode 9

seiren09

What the fuck?

Weekly Weekly-chan

idolmasteruzuki

The fact that I don’t have anything non-anime related to talk about here in Weekly Weekly-chan is indicative of what I actually do every week: watch anime.

Suffice to say, I just watched both seasons of  The IDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls in the span of 3 days. I was a bit skeptical in picking this show up given how low its score is at MAL, but c’mon who trusts MAL’s scoring nowadays? Nevertheless, both season was a blast to watch. While I feel like its predecessor that aired a year ago or so prior to Cinderella Girls has a more solid footing and motif, the latter, on the other hand, has — in my opinion — one of the most charming group of girls I’ve ever seen. And we’re not talking about a “group of 12” idols or something, as Cinderella Girls boasts 40 or more cutesy characters equipped with their own unique personality and memorable design.

Of course, not everyone of them left a good impression to me, as there are some that was kinda… not handled all too well. Mio Honda, in particular, strikes me as an erratically written character which is a let down,considering that she’s primed as the leader of the show’s main unit. There was this episode in the second season where she was like I’m going to be what I want to be so I’ll become an actress in just half an episode! Where did that come from, I don’t know. Is she supposed to be a multi-talented idol? Maybe? Or they prolly just needed to add something to her character immediately so as to give way to plain Jane Uzuki’s  character arc? More like it.

Well, whatever, and that’s only one of the few quips I have with this show. Still… it managed to garner a 9/10 in my enjoyment list despite the glaring drawbacks I’m compelled to share at a different post (if ever). It’s rough around the edges, sure, but it certainly has a spark in it that I fell in love with. (and not to mention those gorgeously animated choreography and character acting — and holy hell Megumi Kouno is a goddess)

Well, what do you think?

