Winter 2017 – Week 10

The best thing about being able to blog the shows I’m keeping tabs on is that I’m able to interact with them further. Before, I used to watch an episode and forget about it afterwards. For that reason among others, explaining why I like or dislike something is far easier this time around than with how I consume anime prior to when I started blogging. Albeit minor, this weekly round-up was initially a bother, but sooner became a routine I look forward to every other week. I’m at a point wherein I’m deeply engrossed with anime that enjoying it is not enough — I wanted to learn more about what I’m watching, be it explaining this and that with a paragraph or two or at the very least giving a single line of commentary per episode. This weekly round-up isn’t groundbreaking in terms of analysis, but it sort of gave me an outlet to voice my opinions, and acts as a time-capsule for me to look back to when nostalgia calls for it. With that said, I’m eager to continue this bothersome weekly round-up next season… despite my body begging me to stop writing/watching and take some rest instead.

Kobayashi-san chi no Maid Dragon – Episode 10

Choreo’s stuck in my head. For some reason the MV reminds me of La La Land.

maiddragon05

The usual mix of enjoyable and heartwarming. This time, highlighting how far the dragons have progressed to the point that they’re willing to put their powers into, uhh, good use for the sake of a bunch of geezers. Finally, it feels like they’re at home in Earth. Also the first time Kobayashi-san left the chorogons to their own devices. I guess it just shows how much she has trust with them now.

Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2 – Episode 10 (END)

konosuba29

PLUS!!!!!
ULTRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!

Ooops. I mean — Ko No Su Ba!!!

What a send-off. I feel bad for laughing at Aqua the whole time. I thought she was only good for the laughs and the lulz but damn son. Great season. Will watch another one. Thanks, Konosuba!

Masamune-kun no Revenge – Episodes 11 & 12

masamunekunnorevenge11

It’s super effective!

I’m pretty sure we’re nearing the end but Masamune-kun still has a few good characters and twists to introduce. I love the characters, I love the turn of events but… I’m really just not sold with its premise of ‘revenge’. I know I’m speaking with my own personal bias considering that Masamune is better off with Neko but whatever.

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen – Episode 11

rakugo12

Because ten billion years time is so fragile and so ephemeral it arouses a bittersweet, almost heartbreaking fondness.”

OP is nowhere to be found; clock stopped ticking. Tick tock, tick tock.
They’re all laughing, they’re all smiling.
Festive mood.
They’re dead.
No hard feelings, they’re in the past. Nothing lasts.

You know those times when you feel poetic because of something you’ve seen or watched? Yeah… that’s the kind of reaction I got from this episode. I can’t explain anything further; there’s obviously a lot to digest from Rakugo, but I feel like that impromptu stanza above is sufficient enough to translate what little commentary I have in mind. I’m happy for everyone — not exactly Happy happy, but more like at peace, I guess. That last performance Kikuhiko must have been a bliss, specially when the last thing he wanted to do is to perform without any sort of burden on his shoulders.

Little Witch Academia (TV) – Episode 10

littlewitchacademia11

Fun episode. I guess LWA has better chances at-bat if it isn’t trying to be predictable with its episodics.

Tales of Zestiria the X Season 2 – Episode 10

tozx0212

Dramatic music kicks in. Camera pans to a view of the mountain. OP intro abruptly cuts in. The fuck is this horrible editing?

More talking. Weird thing about this is that you can practically skip the dialogue and still keep up with what’s happening. Irrelevant side-characters taking center stage for some reason. What an awful mess.

Demi-chan wa Kataritai – Episode 11

demichan11

It’s a Takahashi-sensei appreciation episode, and it’s great! Not that I was deeply moved by the demis’ gesture, but I just feel happy to see Takahashi-sensei get the love he deserves. Got surprised at how he was all flustered and teary-eyed after he watched that video given that I was expecting a somewhat different reaction, but I guess he’s a genuinely soft and sensitive person on the inside.

ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka – Episode 11

acca1310

More plot. More twists. More revelations. I thought the word hype doesn’t exists in ACCA‘s dictionary but I was wrong.

Seiren – Episodes 10 & 11

seiren10

“Why do boys get so horny around Christmas Eve?” Really? Is this true?

Kyoko arc is best arc. Kamita realizes Kyoko sees him as a man because the underwear she made has a hole in it! Makes sense.

Weekly Weekly-chan

Have you seen Gunslinger Girl? Maybe you should’ve seen Gunslinger Girl.

gunslingergirl01

Gunslinger Girl was awesome… only until the end of the first episode. First episode had the makings of something Hideaki Anno would’ve done: clever shot compositions, classical music, moral ambiguity, traffic lights, and the comparison ends with… traffic lights. Of course, as far as I know, Anno isn’t involved with this show in any way whatsoever– it’s just that the first episode was kicking so much ass I got so hyped for the following episodes and got disappointed big time. It’s not that the rest were outright offensive, and in fact, they’re above average to say the least. Gunslinger Girl‘s first season has a lot more to say, and I feel like I wouldn’t be able to fully appreciate its narrative as a whole considering that it only took me 10 seconds to drop the entirety of the second season. Regardless, I had quite a fun time watching this anime, and I wouldn’t be ashamed to recommend it to others.

Oh, and why is it that early to mid anime has this awesome Engrish opening songs?

Leave a comment