Spring 2017 – Week 5

I’m almost ready to throw in the towel and admit that I’m the odd one out when it comes to showing their appreciation for Shingeki no Kyojin‘s 2nd season. I love it, and I’m really enjoying what it has to offer, and that’s indicative that, well, I can’t really find anything to hate about it… so far. Oh, sorry, I should be writing an introduction but what the hell.

Boku no Hero Academia Season 2 – Episode 6

bokunoheroacademia05

WAIT FOR IT.

Shingeki no Kyojin Season 2 – Episode 6

shingekinokyojin15

Let’s be honest. I’ve been lurking AniTube, AniTwitter, r/anime, /a/, and whatever gutter I can find myself in, and those apathetic to Snk‘s 2nd season (emphasis to the 2nd season) looks to be divided into two factions: those who throw around single word criticisms like dumb, stupid, comedic etc. etc., and those who are able to articulate those single words and elaborate on them further… and still completely miss the mark. Of course, I may also fall into the former who speaks of SnK‘s season 2 in high regard without actually explaining why but I’ll get to that sooner or later (but really Christa is the only reason why I’m having fun!!1).

If anything, it looks to me that majority of those who aren’t enjoying the show that much have already read the manga, hence I’m more inclined to believe that their case is similar to my relationship with that of Boku no Hero Academia‘s 2nd season. I am not going to bring the ‘spoiler’ topic up again since I’ve already talked about it weeks ago, but it should be wise to keep in mind that their feedback of it being dumb and boring and whatever is likely relative to this. After all, this 2nd season shifted its gear to a more mystery-centric narrative, and this is desensitized (if not, completely eliminated) as soon as you are already aware of what the punchline is.

Regardless, I still think that SnK has noteable moments that can still be appreciated aside from how it handles it tone and atmosphere. Episode 6 is supposedly the big reveal, yet they threw it at us in the most nonchalant fashion. They could have had amped up the stereo and exaggerated Reiner and Eren’s conversation with streak lines and yelling people then cut to the TO BE CONTINUED part and call it a day, but they didn’t. SnK may be self-aware of how we are going to react to the this twist at this point — considering it;s fairly obvious by now what Reiner and Bertholdt’s secret is, not to mention that flashback from earlier — and using this reveal as the episode’s “cliffhanger” may seem like an insult to its viewers’ intelligence. Rather, they held onto it and delivered something more spectacular instead.

A resounding clang reverberated across the hulking concrete of Wall Maria, and all curious eyes turned to the direction of Reiner and his party. Instrumental build-up, drum beats, Reiner’s fist exuding steam, capturing his strengthening resolve. The swelling crescendo of Hiroyuki Sawano’s Vogel im Käfig sang and danced with sprays of fresh blood and killing intent, until a deafening clap of thunder cut through the orchestra signaling the arrival of carnage incarnate.

Yeah, I know. I know I’m doing a terrible job at explaining why it’s so good, but if you’re that someone who didn’t find any merit whatsoever in that culmination of impressive visuals, godly soundtrack, superb character acting, A+ voice acting, tense build-up and atmosphere then… I honestly don’t know what to say. But I guess that’s just our percection works when we’re too detached with what we’re consuming, yet that isn’t enough to justify calling something bad, boring, whatever.

Oh, that Vogel im Käfig remix was fucking bad-ass.

Tsuki ga Kirei – Episode 5

tsukigakirei11

Seriously though, I don’t mind if she wins.

Uh-oh. This is not good. I knew there were hints of it but I never thought that they’re seriously adding a possibility of NTR. Tsuki ga Kirei‘s going to give me a heart attack even before my smoking habit does.

Shingeki no Bahamut: Virgin Soul – Episode 5

shingekinobahamutvirginsoul05

A romantic sub-plot for Rita? Now we’re talking.

Little Witch Academia (TV) – Episode 17

littlewitchacademia16

I was expecting more discussion about LWA from my community. I mean, LWA certainly has its ups and downs, and in retrospect it feels more like an experimental field for Trigger’s talents to sharpen their pencils and do something new. Last week’s LWA was plain weird and off-beat, yet this week’s episode had a more solid footing in terms of technicality.

Of course, TV animation’s episodes aren’t always produced by order, rather, as we all should know by now, are scattered throughout the studio’s hectic schedule due to various production hurdles. Episode 17 may be finished even before the storyboards for Episode 15 are made. However, the varying degrees of consistency and inconsistency I am seeing from LWA‘s episodes speak as if multiple people are pitching in their ideas (duh) on what theme they’re going to animate for the week, hence its disjointed and episodic nature, making it more apparent whether or not an episode is a ‘hit’ or a ‘miss’. It isn’t unlike, say, 3-gatsu no Lion wherein despite some bumpy weeks here and there, we’re still following the narrative in a single line — it’s still 3-gatsu, only with a different quality to it. Flip Flappers is another good example. It had a very impressive showing on its first half, and the ‘rumours’ of a writer change on the latter half became more visible as weeks go on.

I’m merely basing this on my own personal deduction and I advise anyone to take this with a grain of salt — it’s just that LWA‘s ensuing inconsistency is only making it difficult for me to commit myself in enjoying the show on a week by week basis.

Eromanga Sensei – Episode 5

eromangasensei01

reactionguy01

eromangasensei04

reactionguy02

Shuumatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Isogashii desu ka? Sukette Moratte Ii desu ka?Episode 4

sukasuka04

SukaSuka is definitely doing a great job at expanding its world further with this episode. I mean, we’ve been stuck in the orphanage for the last episodes, yet they still managed to handle the world-building a-okay. The city MC-kun and Tiat went to honestly has that vibe of ARIA‘s very own Neo-Venetia… minus the lizards.

Re:Creators – Episode 5

recreators04

Weeee! More talking! But this time the banter is fun and entertaining. Like… they explained what already happened, difference being they told it on a more formal and comedic manner. I… kinda hope there were more action stuff going on, though.

Weekly Weekly-chan

bloodborne

More wallpapers? Sure.

I’m late on this write-up.

I hate being late.

But that’s only because I was waiting for Alice to Zouroku (which, by the way, doesn’t seem to be airing this week) so this doesn’t count.

One comment

  1. Cause of course they forced all the girls into cheerleader outfits in Hero Academia. I guess the show can’t shake all of the cliches for shonen anime. XD

    Liked by 1 person

Well, what do you think?

